ARFUSA Board of trustees
Making the rice world better
Members of the ARFUSA at the 2018 meeting held in Davis on 28 July, 2018.
 Standing L to R: Kevin Murphy, Jim Correll, JK Ladha, Short Heinrichs, David Mackill, Jim Hill Jeremy Zwinger, Peter Hobbs, Peter Kelly, Bob Herdt, and Ranjiv Khush. Seated L to R: Bob Zeigler, Jim Litsinger, Randy Barker, Russ Freed, Ronnie Coffman ​
Organized in 1999
HomeAbout UsAwardsAward WinnersWhat Your Support DoesMembers and TrusteesJoin/Support/Donate

Deadline for new award applications July 1, 2019
see Awards page
Asia Rice Foundation USA, Inc.
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
freed@msu.edu
Other Members of ARFUSA 

Randy Barker*
Professor Emeritus, Agricultural Economics,
Cornell.
Boston Red Sox fan
brandy84332@yahoo.com

Dean Chang*
Partner, Gastroenterology Center of CT. Clinical Instructor, Yale University School of Medicine
sdchang1@optimum.net
203-619-3042 (C)
203-795-5710 (H)
203-281-5135 (O)

Peter R. Hobbs
Associate Director of International
Programs, Cornell
ph14@cornell.edu
607-539-6198 (H) 
607-254-7295 (O

JK Ladha
Senior Soil Scientist, IRRI and IRRI representative for India
j.k.ladha@irri.org
91-11-25843802
Mobile: 0091-987-345-6711

Harold Kauffman
Retired, Asst. Dean International Activities and Professor Dept. Crop Sciences, University of Illinois 
haroldkauffman@gmail.com
574-848-9713 (C/H)

Gurdev Khush
Adjunct Professor, UC Davis
World Food Prize Laureate 
gurdev@khush.org
530-750-2440

David Mackill 
Rice Specialist with MARS, Inc. 
Adjunct professor, Plant Sciences, UC Davis
djmackill@ucdavis.edu
562-884-7668 (C)
530-752-4940 (O)
530-792-7332 (H) 

Susan R. McCouch
Professor, Plant Breeding & Genetics
Cornell University
srm4@cornell.edu
(607)225-4585 (O)
(607) 745-8306 (C)

Hugh Murphy* 
150 Kala Heights Drive
Port Townsend, WA 98368
murphyh7@hotmail.com
360-385-2655

Alicia Perdon 
Advanced Innovation Team
W. K. Kellogg Institute
alicia.perdon@kellogg.com; aliciaperdon@asiariceusa.org
269-961-3769 (O)
269-965-3817 (H)

KV Rahman
​Associate Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
kvr1@cornell.edu

Tim Rockwood
Rockwood Land Services LLC
rockls@vermontel.net;
802-436-2930 
802-299-0042 (c)

Walt Rockwood* 
40 Maxwell Perkins Ln Apt 5 Cox
Windsor, VT 05089
waltrock@vtelwireless.com
802-369 9463

Endang Septiningsih (Septi)
Soil and Crop Sciences
Texas A&M University
e.Septiningsih@ag.tamu.edu

Michael Thomson
Crop and Soil Sciences
Texas A&M Iniversity
m.thomson@tamu.edu


Save the Date!
IRRI Reunion -- Staff and families
and 
ARFUSA Members Meeting
Sacramento/Davis, California
July 31 - Aug 2, 2019
Contribute to Asia Rice Foundation USA
BOARD of TRUSTEES 
The members who are the governing body of ARFUSA

​Russell Freed (Board Chair) 
Professor Emeritus of International Agronomy 
Michigan State University
freed@msu.edu 
517-355-0271 ext 187 (O)
517-410-5528 (C)

Kevin Murphy (Vice Chair)
Assistant Research Professor,
Washington State University.
kmurphy2@wsu.edu
208-596-9448 (C)
509-335-9692

Ronnie Coffman (Secretary)
International Professor of Plant Breeding and Genetics, Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
wrc2@cornell.edu
607-327-1824 (C); 607-255-2554 (O)
607-272-7551 (H)

Bob Herdt (Treasurer)
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
rwh13@cornell.edu 
914-772-0741

Renu Miles (Associate Treasurer)
1397 Mansfield St.
Tracy, CA 95376
twobkind@yahoo.com
209-640-9095

E.A. “Short” Heinrichs  
Asia Program Manager, IPM Innovation Lab
6517 S. 19th Street
Lincoln, NE 68512
eheinrichs2@unl.edu 
402-890-7496 (C) 
402-805-4748 (H)

Jim Hill
Associate Dean for International Programs and Extension Agronomist for Rice, UC Davis
jehill@ucdavis.edu 
269-961-3796 

Ranjiv Khush
Executive Director, Aquaya Institute - research and consulting focused on safe drinking water solutions
ranjiv@aquaya.org
415-680-5846 (H –C)
415-674-9551 (O)

James A. Litsinger
1365 Jacobs Place, 
Dixon, CA 95620, USA
​jameslitsinger@yahoo.com 

Robert S. Zeigler (Executive Director)
Director General Emeritus, IRRI 
Portland, OR
​bob@zeiglermail.net
503-915-8924 (H)​
Walt Rockwood receives the ARFUSA Certificate of Appreciation
International Rice Meeting 2019 
Click here to reserve Hotel rooms
Click here to Register 
and Buy Tickets
(We are working with The Rice Trader for registration and ticketing the event)