Making the rice world better
Trustees and Council Members of the Asia Rice Foundation USA (ARFUSA) met for the 18th annual meeting at Cornell on 29 July, 2017. 
Seated: Ronnie Coffman, Bob Herdt, Dave Mackill, Walt Rockwood, Bob Zeigler, Randy Barker
Standing: Mike Thomson, Peter Kelly, Ranjiv Khush, Mike Bonman, Harold Kauffman, Peter Hobbs, Jim Hill, Renu Pathak Miles, Russ Freed,Khin Mar Cho, Susan McCouch, Endang Septiningsih, KV Rahman

Organized in 1999
HomeAbout UsAwardsAward WinnersSupport ARFUSAAnnual Meeting, TrusteesJoin as a Member Now!

Deadline for new award applications is February 28, 2019
Asia Rice Foundation USA, Inc.
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
freed@msu.edu
ARFUSA Board of trustees
Consistent Supporters of ARFUSA 

Randy Barker*
Professor Emeritus, Agricultural Economics,
Cornell.
Boston Red Sox fan
brandy84332@yahoo.com

Dean Chang*
Partner, Gastroenterology Center of CT. Clinical Instructor, Yale University School of Medicine
sdchang1@optimum.net
203-619-3042 (C)
203-795-5710 (H)
203-281-5135 (O)

Peter R. Hobbs
Associate Director of International
Programs, Cornell
ph14@cornell.edu
607-539-6198 (H) 
607-254-7295 (O

JK Ladha
Senior Soil Scientist, IRRI and IRRI representative for India
j.k.ladha@irri.org
91-11-25843802
Mobile: 0091-987-345-6711

Harold Kauffman
Retired, Asst. Dean International Activities and Professor Dept. Crop Sciences, University of Illinois 
haroldkauffman@gmail.com
574-848-9713 (C/H)

Gurdev Khush
Adjunct Professor, UC Davis
World Food Prize Laureate 
gurdev@khush.org
530-750-2440

David Mackill 
Rice Specialist with MARS, Inc. 
Adjunct professor, Plant Sciences, UC Davis
djmackill@ucdavis.edu
562-884-7668 (C)
530-752-4940 (O)
530-792-7332 (H) 

Susan R. McCouch
Professor, Plant Breeding & Genetics
Cornell University
srm4@cornell.edu
(607)225-4585 (O)
(607) 745-8306 (C)

Hugh Murphy* 
150 Kala Heights Drive
Port Townsend, WA 98368
murphyh7@hotmail.com
360-385-2655

Alicia Perdon 
Advanced Innovation Team
W. K. Kellogg Institute
alicia.perdon@kellogg.com; aliciaperdon@asiariceusa.org
269-961-3769 (O)
269-965-3817 (H)

KV Rahman
​Associate Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
kvr1@cornell.edu

Tim Rockwood
Rockwood Land Services LLC
rockls@vermontel.net;
802-436-2930 
802-299-0042 (c)

Walt Rockwood* 
40 Maxwell Perkins Ln Apt 5 Cox
Windsor, VT 05089
waltrock@vtelwireless.com
802-369 9463

Endang Septiningsih (Septi)
Soil and Crop Sciences
Texas A&M University
e.Septiningsih@ag.tamu.edu

Michael Thomson
Crop and Soil Sciences
Texas A&M Iniversity
m.thomson@tamu.edu


Everyone Please REGISTER by sending an email to jehill@ucdavis.edu  with cc to rvabrenilla@ucdavis.edu
 Annual meeting at Davis July 27-28, 2018

​UC Davis will host our Annual Meeting this year. The events include:

Tour of CA Rice Farming, Friday. Contact Jim Hill if you would like to participate: jehill@ucdavis.edu

Seminar by Carlito Lebrilla at 4:30 Friday. He is distinguished professor at UCD, doing exciting research in nutrition and glycobiology. He is from the Philippines and won the Academic Senate Research Award at UCD this year.

Reception to follow the seminar at Putah Creek Lodge on the campus arboretum. 

Registration fee: $50 per person, payable at the meeting.

Membership: See fee schedule on "Join as a Member Now!"

The Membership meeting will begin 9:30 am Saturday morning at the California Crop Improvement Board Room in Parsons Hall on the campus. All paid-up members will convene to vote for the Board of Directors, plan the program for the coming year and hear reports on the work of the foundation.

Dinner Saturday evening hosted by ARFUSA Davis members.

A block booking of rooms has been made at the Hallmark Inn in Davis. Telephone 800 753 0035 to make your booking at the special conference rate -- reference Booking ID # 3642.

Register NOW for the annual meeting in Davis, California, July 27-28, 2018
Send your email to:
jehill@ucdavis.edu cc to rvabrenilla@ucdavis.edu
Contribute to Asia Rice Foundation USA
BOARD of TRUSTEES members are the governing body of ARFUSA

​Ronnie Coffman (Secretary)
International Professor of Plant Breeding and Genetics, Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
wrc2@cornell.edu
607-327-1824 (C); 607-255-2554 (O)
607-272-7551 (H)

Russell Freed (Board Chair) 
Professor Emeritus of International Agronomy 
Michigan State University
freed@msu.edu 
517-355-0271 ext 187 (O)
517-410-5528 (C)

E.A. “Short” Heinrichs  
Asia Program Manager, IPM Innovation Lab
6517 S. 19th Street
Lincoln, NE 68512
eheinrichs2@unl.edu 
402-890-7496 (C) 
402-805-4748 (H)

Bob Herdt (Treasurer)
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
rwh13@cornell.edu 
914-772-0741 (C)

Jim Hill
Associate Dean for International Programs and Extension Agronomist for Rice, UC Davis
jehill@ucdavis.edu 
269-961-3796 

Ranjiv Khush
Executive Director, Aquaya Institute - research and consulting focused on safe drinking water solutions
ranjiv@aquaya.org
415-680-5846 (H –C)
415-674-9551 (O)

James A. Litsinger
1365 Jacobs Place, 
Dixon, CA 95620, USA
​jameslitsinger@yahoo.com 

Renu Pathak Miles
Tracy, CA 95376
twobkind@yahoo.com
209-640-9095

Kevin Murphy (Vice Chair)
Assistant Research Professor,
Washington State University.
kmurphy2@wsu.edu
208-596-9448 (C)
509-335-9692

Robert S. Zeigler (Executive Director)
Director General Emeritus, IRRI 
Portland, OR
​bob@zeiglermail.net
503-915-8924 (H)​