Making the rice world better
Trustees and Council Members of the Asia Rice Foundation USA (ARFUSA) met for the 18th annual meeting at Cornell on 29 July, 2017. 
Seated: Ronnie Coffman, Bob Herdt, Dave Mackill, Walt Rockwood, Bob Zeigler, Randy Barker
Standing: Mike Thomson, Peter Kelly, Ranjiv Khush, Mike Bonman, Harold Kauffman, Peter Hobbs, Jim Hill, Renu Pathak Miles, Russ Freed,Khin Mar Cho, Susan McCouch, Endang Septiningsih, KV Rahman

Organized in 1999
HomeAbout UsAwardsAward WinnersSupport ARFUSATrustees & Council MembersDonate Now!

Deadline for award applications is February 28, 2018
Asia Rice Foundation USA, Inc.
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
freed@msu.edu
ARFUSA Board of trustees
BOARD of TRUSTEES members are the governing body of ARFUSA

​Ronnie Coffman (Secretary)
International Professor of Plant Breeding and Genetics, Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
wrc2@cornell.edu
607-327-1824 (C); 607-255-2554 (O)
607-272-7551 (H)

Russell Freed (Board Chair) 
Professor Emeritus of International Agronomy 
Michigan State University
freed@msu.edu 
517-355-0271 ext 187 (O)
517-410-5528 (C)

Bob Herdt (Treasurer)
82 Ashlar Village
Wallingford, CT 06492
rwh13@cornell.edu 
914-772-0741 (C)

Jim Hill
Associate Dean for International Programs and Extension Agronomist for Rice, UC Davis
jehill@ucdavis.edu 
269-961-3796 

Ranjiv Khush
Executive Director, Aquaya Institute - research and consulting focused on safe drinking water solutions
ranjiv@aquaya.org
415-680-5846 (H –C)
415-674-9551 (O)

James A. Litsinger
1365 Jacobs Place, 
Dixon, CA 95620, USA
​jameslitsinger@yahoo.com 

Renu Pathak Miles
Tracy, CA 95376
twobkind@yahoo.com
209-640-9095

Kevin Murphy (Vice Chair)
Assistant Research Professor,
Washington State University.
kmurphy2@wsu.edu
208-596-9448 (C)
509-335-9692

Robert S. Zeigler (Executive Director)
Director General Emeritus, IRRI 
Portland, OR
​bob@zeiglermail.net
503-915-8924 (H)​



COUNCIL MEMBERS support ARFUSA financially and with advice

Randy Barker*
Professor Emeritus, Agricultural Economics,
Cornell.
Boston Red Sox fan
brandy84332@yahoo.com

Dean Chang*
Partner, Gastroenterology Center of CT. Clinical Instructor, Yale University School of Medicine
sdchang1@optimum.net
203-619-3042 (C)
203-795-5710 (H)
203-281-5135 (O)

E.A. “Short” Heinrichs  
Asia Program Manager, IPM Innovation Lab
6517 S. 19th Street
Lincoln, NE 68512
eheinrichs2@unl.edu 
402-890-7496 (C) 
402-805-4748 (H)

Peter R. Hobbs
Associate Director of International
Programs, Cornell
ph14@cornell.edu
607-539-6198 (H) 
607-254-7295 (O

JK Ladha
Senior Soil Scientist, IRRI and IRRI representative for India
j.k.ladha@irri.org
91-11-25843802
Mobile: 0091-987-345-6711

Harold Kauffman
Retired, Asst. Dean International Activities and Professor Dept. Crop Sciences, University of Illinois 
haroldkauffman@gmail.com
574-848-9713 (C/H)

Gurdev Khush
Adjunct Professor, UC Davis
World Food Prize Laureate 
gurdev@khush.org
530-750-2440

David Mackill 
Rice Specialist with MARS, Inc. 
Adjunct professor, Plant Sciences, UC Davis
djmackill@ucdavis.edu
562-884-7668 (C)
530-752-4940 (O)
530-792-7332 (H) 

Susan R. McCouch
Professor, Plant Breeding & Genetics
Cornell University
srm4@cornell.edu
(607)225-4585 (O)
(607) 745-8306 (C)

Hugh Murphy* 
150 Kala Heights Drive
Port Townsend, WA 98368
murphyh7@hotmail.com
360-385-2655

Alicia Perdon 
Advanced Innovation Team
W. K. Kellogg Institute
alicia.perdon@kellogg.com; aliciaperdon@asiariceusa.org
269-961-3769 (O)
269-965-3817 (H)

KV Rahman
​Associate Director of International Programs, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Cornell University
kvr1@cornell.edu

Tim Rockwood
Rockwood Land Services LLC
rockls@vermontel.net;
802-436-2930 
802-299-0042 (c)

Walt Rockwood* 
40 Maxwell Perkins Ln Apt 5 Cox
Windsor, VT 05089
waltrock@vtelwireless.com
802-369 9463

Endang Septiningsih (Septi)
Soil and Crop Sciences
Texas A&M University
e.Septiningsih@ag.tamu.edu

Michael Thomson
Crop and Soil Sciences
Texas A&M Iniversity
m.thomson@tamu.edu


Report on the Ithaca
meeting July 28-29, 2017

The activities began with a fascinating talk by  special guest speaker Gary Toenniessen about the events that led up to the 1943 launching of the Rockefeller Foundation's agricultural work in Mexico. Gary showed how generations of RF officers and advisors well before Norman Borlaug and George Harrar laid the groundwork. 

The meeting was held on Saturday morning July 29 with election of Trustees and discussion of the ARFUSA programs. Everyone enjoying Ithaca and the chance to meet friends over dinner on Saturday evening at a local Pan-Asian restaurant 

Many Thanks to our hosts Ronnie and Charlotte Coffman and to Ms. Anna Garber Hammond, who handled the logistics so ably.

Trustees and Council will meet in Davis, California, July 27-28, 2018
The meeting is open to all who are interested in the Foundation's work
Contribute to Asia Rice Foundation USA